Warning: gethostbyaddr() has been disabled for security reasons in D:\inetpub\thesketchersons\wp-content\plugins\statpress-community-formerly-statcomm\classes\utilities.php on line 157
History « The Sketchersons


Published on September th, 2010

The Sketchersons are a sketch comedy troupe based in Toronto, Ontario. They are winners of the 2007 Canadian Comedy Award for best Sketch Troupe, an award they had been nominated for each of the 3 years prior. The Sketchersons were again nominated for the award in 2008, 2009 and again in 2010.

The Sketchersons have performed across Canada and the United States, including at the 2005 and 2006 Montreal Fringe Festivals, the 2006 New York Fringe Festival, the 2008 Just For Laughs Sketch Comedy Gala in Toronto and the 2009 Chicago Sketch Comedy Festival. Members of the troupe are also active in Toronto’s comedy scene and can be seen at various shows around the city including Laugh Sabbath, The Last Comedy Show and Projectproject amongst others.

The April 2010 cast of Sunday Night Live (minus Pat Thornton, Cole Osborne and Daryn McIntyre)

Sunday Night Live Alumni

  • Shannon Beckner – Founding member
  • Craig Brown – Founding member
  • Grant Cumming – Founding member
  • Inessa Frantowski – Founding member
  • Dan Galea – Founding member
  • Bob Kerr – Founding member; former news anchor
  • Holly Prazoff – Founding member
  • Pat Thornton – Founding member; former head writer
  • Tal Zimerman – Founding member; former news anchor
  • Fraser Young
  • Gilson Lubin
  • Nikki Payne
  • Jared Sales – former news anchor
  • Jason DeRosse – Joined July 3, 2007
  • Andy Hull – Joined July 3, 2007
  • Josh Saltzman – Joined July 3, 2007
  • Norm Sousa – Joined July 3, 2007; former head writer/ news anchor
  • Cole Osborne – Joined July 3, 2007; former news anchor
  • Laura Cilevitz
  • Alex Tindal – Joined Nov 6th, 2008
  • Carly Heffernan – Joined Nov 6th, 2008
  • Sarah Hillier – Joined Nov 6th, 2008
  • Brendan Halloran – Joined Nov 6th, 2008; former head writer/ news anchor
  • Jon Blair – Joined Nov 6th, 2008;¬†former Head Writer
  • Kevin Matviw – Joined August 15th, 2010
  • Ian MacIntyre – Joined August 15th, 2010
  • Kaitlin Loftus – Joined March 6th, 2011
  • Kirsten Rasmussen – Joined January 20th, 2013

Video Content

  • Jared Sales
  • Josh Saltzman
  • Vivieno Caldinelli
  • Jon Blair
  • Andy Auld

The Sketchersons run the weekly stage show Sunday Night Live, which is modeled after the Saturday Night Live TV show on NBC. Sunday Night Live began in Toronto in early 2004 at The Rivoli but only lasted for 2 shows before moving to the Poor Alex Theatre on Brunswick Street at Bloor, with hosts such as Amanda Walsh, Scott Thompson and Snow. In 2005 The Poor Alex closed, and the show moved across the street to The Brunswick House, a popular bar for university students. Notable hosts from this stint at “The Brunny” include WWE Superstar Chris Jericho, Colin Mochrie and Royal Canadian Air Farce’s Don Ferguson. From January to December 2007, the group had a successful run at the Diesel Playhouse. Hosts from that year included Toronto Mayor David Miller, Canadian Idol Ryan Malcolm, Tyler Stewart and Kevin Hearn (members of The Barenaked Ladies) and former Toronto Argonaut John Avery.

In January 2008, Sunday Night Live went on hiatus as the show’s new, permanent venue was under renovation. In November 2008, Comedy Bar, The Sketchersons new venue, opened its doors and the cast (which expanded, adding 6 new members) has been writing a new show every week since. Hosts from this era have included famed stand-up comedian Andy Kindler, Actor Tatiana Maslany, The Sports Network anchor Jay Onrait, Second City alum Sandy Jobin-Bevans and Video On Trial mainstay Debra DiGiovanni.